EMBEDDED EWM

Embedded EWM

Embedded EWM – warehouse management centrally integrated

Our customers come to us with a wide variety of questions: How can migration proceed from WM to embedded EWM smoothly? How can we map the market requirements in EWM while reducing the number of add-ons? Where can we become more efficient in warehouse logistics and save costs? Our logistics are not very extensive, and our logistics budget is limited – is there an inexpensive way to implement SAP EWM? What is the difference between decentralized EWM and embedded EWM and between EWM Basic and Advanced – which one is the right one for us?

Imagine future tasks

Due to the announcement from SAP that WM and ECC maintenance will run out at the end of 2025, many companies are faced with the decision of what they should implement for the future. A good initial step of integrating your warehouse management into the S/4HANA world of SAP is by using Embedded EWM. Unlike previous EWM, where warehouse management was decentralized, the current solution enables a centralized solution providing richer user-friendliness and a simplified architecture. Embedded EWM was first delivered with the SAP S/4HANA Release 1610. Since then, additional EWM functionality has been added to each new S/4HANA release.

abat helps you to find the right approach

SAP EWM and SAP S/4HANA can be operated separately. However, S/4HANA now also offers an embedded EWM. The result is many new applications compared to WM – which up to this point, has been the single central warehouse management system in SAP. Even in the Basic version, Embedded EWM offers richer functionality than WM including resource management, graphical storage location management, exception handling and much more. For companies that have been using WM successfully and do not need the full scope of an EWM system, S/4HANA with Embedded EWM in the Basic version is an optimal solution. Additionally, SAP also offers Embedded EWM in the Advanced Version in S/4HANA. Candidates for this solution have a functional scope which corresponds to that of the classic SAP EWM. There are optimization and integration functionalities, such as components for the Material Flow System (MFS) and the Dock Appointment Scheduling, as well as the seamless connection to SAP TM. The Advanced version therefore covers the entire material flow, starting with the conveyor technology in the warehouse, through yard management and the entire supply chain.

Other Topics:

Copyright 2019 abat AG. All Rights Reserved.
We use cookies
In this way, we want to make our websites more user-friendly and continually improve them. By continuing to use the web pages, you consent to the use of cookies. Further information is available in our Privacy Policy. I agree with the use of cookies. Find out more
Accept cookies

EMBEDDED EWM

Embedded EWM – Lagerverwaltung zentral integriert

Unsere Kunden kommen aktuell mit den verschiedensten Fragestellungen zu uns: Wie ist eine Migration von WM auf Embedded EWM reibungslos möglich? Wie können wir die marktüblichen Anforderungen in EWM abbilden und dabei die Anzahl unserer Add-Ons reduzieren? Wo können wir in der Lagerlogistik effizienter werden und Kosten einsparen? Unsere Logistik ist nicht sehr umfangreich und unser Logistikbudget ist begrenzt – gibt es eine kostengünstige Möglichkeit SAP EWM einzusetzen? Worin unterscheiden sich eigentlich das dezentrale EWM und das Embedded EWM und worin das EWM Basic und das Advanced – und welches davon ist das richtige für uns?

Stellen Sie sich zukünftigen Aufgaben

Durch die Ankündigung der SAP, WM und ECC Ende 2025 aus der Wartung laufen zu lassen, stehen viele Unternehmen vor der Entscheidung, worauf sie zukünftig setzen sollen. Ein Schritt für die Integration der eigenen Lagerverwaltung in die S/4HANA Welt der SAP ist die Verwendung des Embedded EWM. Im Gegensatz zur bisherigen dezentralen Lagerverwaltung mit EWM stellt die nun ermöglichte zentrale Lösung eine höhere Benutzerfreundlichkeit und eine vereinfachte Architektur bereit. Erstmals wurde ein Embedded EWM mit dem SAP S/4HANA Release 1610 ausgeliefert. Seitdem werden jedem neuen S/4HANA Release weitere EWM-Funktionalitäten hinzugefügt.

abat hilft Ihnen dabei, den richtigen Ansatz zu finden

SAP EWM und SAP S/4HANA können zukünftig wie gewohnt getrennt voneinander betrieben werden. S/4HANA bietet nun aber zusätzlich ein Embedded EWM. Hiermit ergeben sich im Vergleich zum WM – dem bis dato einzigen zentralen Lagerverwaltungssystem im SAP – viele neue Anwendungsmöglichkeiten. Schon in der Basic Version bietet Embedded EWM gegenüber dem WM ein Ressourcenmanagement, eine grafische Lagerplatzverwaltung, Ausnahmebehandlung und vieles mehr. Für Unternehmen, die bisher WM eingesetzt haben und nicht den vollen Umfang eines EWM-Systems benötigen, ist ein S/4HANA mit Embedded EWM in der Basic Version somit eine optimale Lösung. Darüber hinaus bietet SAP im S/4HANA auch ein Embedded EWM in der Advanced Version an. Deren Funktionsumfang entspricht dem des klassischen SAP EWM. Es handelt sich dabei um Optimierung- und Integrationsfunktionalitäten, wie beispielsweise die Komponenten für das Materialflusssystem (MFS) und das Dock Appoinment Scheduling aber auch die nahtlose Anbindung an SAP TM. Mit der Advanced Version wird also der komplette Materialfluss abgedeckt, beginnend bei der Fördertechnik und Automatik im Lager, über die Hofsteuerung, bis hin zur gesamten Supply Chain.

Copyright 2018 abat AG. All Rights Reserved.
Wir verwenden Cookies
Damit wollen wir unsere Webseiten nutzerfreundlicher gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern. Wenn Sie die Webseiten weiter nutzen, stimmen Sie dadurch der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung. Ich stimme der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Mehr erfahren
Cookies akzeptieren